As a practicing RSW, you are responsible for continuous learning to keep up the knowledge and skills required to perform in your area(s) of practice. Regulatory organizations are required by law to monitor compliance and determine eligibility of professional development activities that you undertake. Generally a variety of activities relevant to an RSW’s field of work and position are accepted.

Requirements differ slightly across Canada according to jurisdiction, but generally they include a number of activities that are quantified in the form of hours, credits or otherwise.  For the requirements specific to your province or territory, please see your jurisdiction’s guide, policy or program on continuing competence. 

Prince Edward Island

Continuing Education Policy


Continuing Competence

Newfoundland and Labrador

Continuing Professional Education

British Columbia

Continuing Professional Development

Nova Scotia

Professional Development Council Policy and Procedure Policy


Continuing Competence Program


Continuing Professional Education Policy


Continuing Competence Program


Règlement sur la formation continue obligatoire des membres de l’Ordre des travailleurs sociaux et des thérapeutes conjugaux et familiaux du Québec

New Brunswick

Continuing Professional Education

Northern Canada

Continuing Competency Program