2019 CASW Distinguished Service Awards

(Ottawa, Ontario) March 31, 2019 – The Canadian Association of Social Workers’ Distinguished Service Awards are presented to remarkable social workers selected from the membership of CASW Partner organizations each year. These CASW Distinguished Service Awards serve to honour the significant contributions made by the social work profession in support of building stronger families, communities and a more equitable Canada.


CASW is pleased to nationally announce the 2019 CASW Distinguished Service Award recipients, each of whom received their award in celebrations held across Canada during the month of March:




Alberta College of Social Workers

Richard Gregory

British Columbia Association of Social Workers      

Kimberly Azyan

Manitoba College of Social Workers                            

Jill Brown

New Brunswick Association of Social Workers

Valerie DeLong

Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Social Workers            

Mona Romaine Elliott

Nova Scotia Association of Social Workers                                    

Dr. Marion Brown

Prince Edward Island Association of Social Workers                      

Sigrid Rolfe

Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers                                 

Natalie Bieberdorf

Association of Social Workers in Northern Canada                          

Northwest Territories: Phyllis Mawdsley;

Yukon: Kelly Cooper;

Nunavut: Holly Uvilluk



Each 2019 CASW Distinguished Service Award recipient has provided exceptional service to the populations they serve as well as upholding and exemplifying the best of our profession.


“These are real people – the real social workers – all across Canada who are having such a tremendous, real impact on our country,” added CASW President, Janice Christianson-Wood. “These amazing social workers perfectly reflect this year’s National Social Work Month theme, Real People. Real Impact. and I couldn’t be prouder of our amazing profession.” 


Click here to access the profile and pictures of the 2019 CASW Distinguished Service Awards recipients on the CASW website.