CASW Proudly Elects New President

CASW Proudly Elects New President


OTTAWA, ON – June 29, 2020 – The Canadian Association of Social Workers (CASW) is pleased to announce the election of Joan Davis-Whelan, MSW, RSW from Newfoundland and Labrador as the association’s new President. Prior to being elected CASW President, she has held both the position of Treasurer and Vice-President, respectively. 

"CASW is a unifying voice for the social work profession that helps foster positive, progressive change throughout Canada " says Davis-Whelan as new CASW president. "Social work is a vocation I am proud to be a part of and to elevate nationally and internationally."

Joan is a graduate of Memorial University, completing her Bachelor of Arts in Political Science, and her Bachelor of Social Work. She completed her Master of Social Work and continued to complete certificates in Discharge Planning, Leadership Development, Quality Management and Ethics.

Well known in the Social Work community, Joan has experience in clinical practice including Adult and Child Mental Health and Addictions, Family Violence, Oncology, Palliative Care, Dermatology, Medicine, Nephrology, Surgery, Emergency/ Trauma, Women's Health and Child, Youth and Family Services. She has worked in Quality and Risk and in Human Resources –Organizational Development.

She has been involved with several community boards and committees including Canadian Mental Health Association, Addiction Treatment Services Association, PREP and ACCESS. She was a member of the provincial working group for the clinical review 2008 of Child, Youth and Family Services. Joan has presented on various topics including grief and loss, team dynamics, change management and social work practice. Her areas of interest include social work competencies and education, leadership, clinical services, ethics, and evaluation.

"Despite the unsettling nature of the current global climate, I am looking forward to navigating this new and uncharted journey with you." added Davis-Whelan



For more information:

Fred Phelps, Executive Director