Black women laughing
Webinar event date: 
Mar 15, 2023 8:00 pm EDT
Webinar Presenters: 
Vibya Natana, CNSLI, BSW


Vibya Natana (she/her) is a non-profit professional with a social work background from Regina, SK on Treaty 4 Territory. Vibya is passionate about building the capacity of communities to thrive. Currently, her advocacy spans three primary domains: interpersonal connections (amplifying voices + building meaningful relationships), consciousness-raising (supporting efforts to bring awareness to social issues) and developing inclusive systems (lobbying and more). She currently works in the community development sector, advancing the missions of several organizations both professionally and as a volunteer.


Florence Kurai Mudzongo

Founder of SABSW

Saskatchewan Association of Black Social Workers

Florence Kurai Mudzongo is  the founder and president of the Saskatchewan Association of Black Social Workers She is a culturally responsive Registered Social Worker. She has a Law degree from University of Zimbabwe, a BA major in Human relations from Concordia University and Masters of Social work from McGill University. Florence has been a counsellor for 10 years and she has studied many modalities to bring healing to her clients. She is a life, long learner inspired by the abundance of opportunities available to broaden and enrich the lives of the clients. She is currently working as counsellor at University of Saskatchewan and she is a member of the Black faculty and staff caucus.


The Honourable Wanda Thomas Bernard, PhD, C.M., O.N.S.

Senator – Nova Scotia (East Preston)

Founding Member of NSABSW

Senator Wanda Thomas Bernard is the first African Nova Scotian woman to be appointed to the Senate of Canada, representing the province of Nova Scotia and her hometown of East Preston. Senator Bernard champions issues impacting African Canadians and people living with disabilities. She is particularly invested in human rights, employment equity, and mental health. Through her involvement in community projects, her social work career, her time with Dalhousie School of Social Work, and now her work in the Senate, Senator Bernard has maintained a deep dedication to social justice and racial justice. Senator Bernard advocates for reparations for the historic and continued anti-Black racism impacting the lives of African Canadians in her work.


Dr. Cindy Blackstock

First Nations Child and Family Caring Society

Land Acknowledgement


Welley Balogun, BA MA BSW


Abuna Nathaniel Deng, BSW, RSW, MPA, MTS


Basi Kgobisa

Artist and BSW candidate

Black in Saskatchewan


Carol LaFayette-Boyd


Mayor Charlie Clark

Mayor of Saskatoon

Anthony Olusola

Executive Director

Truly Alive Youth and Family Foundation Inc


Chief Troy Cooper

Saskatoon's Chief of Police

Fred Phelps

Executive Director

Canadian Association of Social Workers

Rachelle Sweeting

Nova Scotia Association of Black Social Workers

Kehinde Ekpudu


Alberta Association of Black Social Workers

Bren Schock


Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers

Dr. Marvin Ankrah

Saskatchewan Association of Black Social Workers


This event will take place at 6pm CST or 7pm EST. Convert to your time zone by clicking here.

Join us in celebrating the launch of the Saskatchewan Association of Black Social Workers (SABSW)! SABSW will support the growth and development of Black social workers in Saskatchewan by providing social connections, networking opportunities, peer support, mentorship, and professional development opportunities. 

Registered participants will have the chance to win one of three copies of the book Africentric Social Work, Edited by Delores V.  Mullings, Jennifer Clarke, Wanda Thomas Bernard, David Este and Sulaimon Giwa.

Featuring keynote address by The Honorable Senator Wanda Thomas Bernard: 

Bringing Africentric Social Work from Margins to Center: Challenges and Opportunities

With remarks and congratulations from:

  • Dr. Cindy Blackstock
  • Welley Balogun
  • Abuna Nathaniel Deng
  • Basi Kgobisa
  • Carol LaFayette-Boyd
  • Mayor Charlie Clark
  • Anthony Olusola (Truly Alive Youth and Family Foundation Inc)
  • Police Chief Troy Cooper
  • Fred Phelps  (CASW)
  • Rachelle Sweeting (NSABSW) 
  • Kehinde Ariyo-Ekpudu (ABSW)
  • Brenda Schock (SASW)
  • Dr. Marvin Ankrah