CASW Announces 2020 Glenn Drover Award for Outstanding Service Recipient Ellen Oliver

Ottawa - July 30, 2020 – During this exceptional time it is of utmost importance to continue to celebrate and embrace the extraordinary people that have significantly contributed to the social work profession. 
Consequently, it is with great pride that the Canadian Association of Social Workers (CASW) publicly announce Ellen Oliver as the recipient of the 2020 Glenn Drover Award for Outstanding Service.
Throughout her impressive career, Ellen has held many national and provincial leadership positions. While President of the CASW, Ellen was involved in the revision of the Code of Ethics, positioning the Association as a strong presence, a commentator on social policy and moving the board toward a policy governance model. Ellen also worked to advance the social work profession on the international level. This included presenting at the United Nations in New York speaking in recognition and celebration of World Social Work Day.
“CASW is currently reviewing its national Code of Ethics – building on the legacy of leadership of people such as Ellen Oliver,” states CASW President Joan Davis-Whelan “Her commitment to strengthening the profession is unparalleled.”
Provincially, Ellen has been actively involved in advancing the work of the Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Social Workers (NLASW). She has facilitated numerous professional education sessions, was an active member and co-chairperson of the Professional Issues Committee, the conference planning committee, the Promotion of the Profession Committee and the NLASW Children’s Issues Committee which was an initiative through the CASW.
It is impossible to list all of Ellen’s professional accomplishments. Throughout her career as a clinician, administrator, and educator, one thing has remained constant: Ellen has continued to inspire those around her and promote the social work profession with integrity, professionalism, and great pride.
For more information contact:
Fred Phelps, MSW, RSW
Executive Director